Lyrics Dict>Artist:Die Flippers Lyrics
About Die Flippers
Die Flippers lyrics

Die Flippers (The Flippers) are a German Schlager group formed in 1964. They are one of the most successful Schlager groups of all time, and have been constantly recording and releasing new music since their self-titled debut album was released in 1970. They have released 45 albums, 5 of which have gone platinum, 24 gold. They have won a Goldene Stimmgabel (one of the largest German music awards) in 1988, 1991, 1994, 1995, 1996, 1998, 1999, 2000, 2002, 2003 and 2004.

Band history

The group was formed in 1964 in Knittlingen, Baden-W?rttemberg consisting of Manfred Durban, Claus Backhaus, Franz Halmich, Manfred M?ssner, Manfred Hehl and Hans Springer. They called themselves the "Dancing Band," and one year later renamed themselves the "Dancing Show Band." Hans Springer was soon replaced by Bernd Hengst. In 1967 Olaf Malolepski replaced Manfred Hehl.

In 1969 the group released their first single Weine nicht, kleine Eva under their new name, Die Flippers. The song enjoyed great success on Schlager radio. Their second single, also from their debut album, entitled Nur mit dir allein was released, but did not match the success of Weine nicht, kleine Eva. Not long after, the group released their third single, Sha La La, I Love You which was also a great success, and is now considered one of their trademark songs.

In the following years the group released numerous albums and quickly became arguably the biggest Schlager group of the early 1970s. In 1973, the group started working with producer Jean Frankfurter. In 1974, Claus Backhaus left the group.

Towards the end of the 1970s, the group's record sales began to drop, but the attendance for concerts remained high. In 1979 Roland Bausert left the group, and Albin Berger replaced him as the lead singer. In the same year Mick Hannes and Walter Gerke became the new production team, in attempt to regain the success the group enjoyed in years past.

The first half of the 1980s had passed, and the group was still unable to regain the success of the early 1970s. In 1985, lead Roland Bausert rejoined the group, but 1986 he exited the group once again. A new keyboardist, Harry Authenrieth, also joined the group but left shortly after Roland Bausert's exit.

The band continued as a trio, consisting of Bernd Hengst, Olaf Malolepski and Manfred Durban, the lineup continues to this day, and teamed up with producers Heinz Rupprich and Uwe Busse for the album Auf rote Rosen fallen Tr?nen.One year after in 1986, the group released their fifteanth album Nur wer die Sehnsucht kennt. This played out to be their comeback album, and it was the group's first gold record. It also cotained the massive hit Die rote Sonne von Barbados. With this song, they appeared on many German television programs, including the ZDF-Hitparade. The album's title track was also a great success, and also received a large amount of airplay on Schlager radio stations.

In 1988, the group went on tour for the first time. Since that year, they have been on yearly tours. Their biggest concert was at the Westfalenhalle in Dortmund, Germany before an audience of 17,000.

In 1994, the German television network ZDF aired the first Flippers special. This led to several more throughout the rest of the 1990s and the 21st century.

In 2004, they celebrated their 35th anniversary with a greatest hits compilation entitled 35 Jahre - Ein Leben f?r die Z?rtlichkeit and the biggest tour of their career, during which the played in some of the biggest stadiums in Germany. Over the course of the tour, over 150,000 people were in attendance.

The group released their latest album, "Kein Weg zu weit" on September 7, 2007.

Fan Clubs


The Die Flippers Fan Club in Canada has been in existence since 1968 when its founding president, Arno Sack, emigrated to Toronto from Germany.


All lyrics are property of their respective owners and are strictly for non-commercial use only.

© 2014 | All rights reserved.