Lyrics Dict>Artist:I Voted For Kodos Lyrics
About I Voted For Kodos
I Voted For Kodos lyrics

I Voted for Kodos (often abbreviated IV4K) was a ska punk and pop punk band, signed to Snapdragon Records.


They were founded in Madison, Wisconsin in 1999, after singer-trombonist Rick Bisenius met guitarist Chris Holoyda at a Reel Big Fish concert. They began playing together when the members were in high school/college. Their name comes from an episode of The Simpsons, "Treehouse of Horror VII", in which Homer Simpson says, "Don't blame me?I voted for Kodos." Although known for their tongue-in-cheek material (they have noted that celery is the band's official vegetable), their song lyrics have also tackled serious issues such as murder and teenage depression. Their first album, Close Enough for Ska, is considered the success story of a small independent record label, Close to Nothing, which was founded by three teenagers.

The band members would begin shows with informal instruction on how to skank so that the audience would appreciate the style of dance associated with ska music. They toured nationally in 2004, and placed number 7 in PureVolume's top ten unsigned bands in the US. The band played the 2004?2006 Vans Warped Tours, and music critic Joe Lynch described their 2006 performance as "freewheeling and energetic". During a separate national tour in early 2006, one music journalist wrote that the band "uses a hot horn section, plenty of guitar and on-the-mark lyrics to fuel a high-energy show."

The band stopped working together in 2007, although Bisenius and Holyda continued to collaborate on a new band, Firefight, and Bisenius began a solo project, The Faster We Fall.

Past members

Rick Bisenius (1999-2007) ? lead vocals, trombone, Moog, piano, alto sax (on My New Obsession), tenor sax (on Close Enough For Ska)
Lee Gordon (1999-2007)? guitar, mellophone, backing vocals, french horn (on Not Penis Cream), synth
Chris Holoyda (1999-2004) - guitar, synth (on Close Enough For Ska)
TJ Dollard (2002-2004) - lead guitar, trumpet
Tyler Christensen (2004-2007) ? guitar, backing vocals
Ross Gilliland (1999 - 2005) - bass, upright bass
Nick Rydell (1999 - 2003) - alto sax, tenor sax (on Not Penis Cream)
Andrew Anderson (1999 - 2003) - keyboards, trumpet
Dave Bartov (2000 - 2001) - trumpet
Tom Kaboski (2000 - 2001) - tenor sax
Andrew "Dafe" Fenton (2000 - 2001) - guitar, bass
Paul Reinke (1999 - 2003) - drums
Troy Riechenberger (2004 - 2005) ? drums
Dustin Frost (2004) - touring trombone player
Jim Bower (2005) - touring trombone player
David Gage (2005 - 2006) ? touring drummer
Andy Christophersen (2004) - touring drummer
Adam Dettwiler (2004) - touring bass player
Mo Olig (2004 - 2005) - touring bass player
Seamus Arena (2004 - 2006) - touring bass player
Rick Riechenberger (2005) - touring bass player, touring keyboard player
Jeremy Braband (2005 - 2006) - touring bass player
Tim Lappin (2006) - touring bass player
Keith Cronin (2001 - 2002) - touring bass player
Tim Ford (2000 - 2001) - touring drummer
Devin Munson (2005) - touring drummer
JT Turret (2005 - 2006) - touring keyboard player
Andy Singer (2006) - touring bass player
Brian Lee (1999) - Alto Sax
Aaron Joneson (2000) - Tenor Sax
Dan Gillis & Cari Stebbins - Merch Girls

All I Voted For Kodos lyrics


All lyrics are property of their respective owners and are strictly for non-commercial use only.

© 2014 | All rights reserved.